Log Entries - Chapter 25

DateChapterDescriptionHours
Sun 5/29/05 25 Sandblasted the fuselage bottom, landing brake, and gear cover. Covered entire fuselage top with plastic to minimize collection of debris. 4
Tue 5/31/05 25 Course filled landing brake and gear cover with micro. Used 9 fluid ounces of micro ballons to 4 squirts of epoxy. 3
Wed 6/1/05 25 Sanded and cleaned fuselage bottom - ready for course fill. 1
Sun 6/5/05 25 Course filled fuselage bottom and nose gear doors. Required 20 batches of dry micro using 3 gallons of micro balloons and 160 squirts of epoxy (8 at a time). 8
Tue 6/7/05 25 Made a stiff sanding board 15.5"x2.75". It was supposed to be 16.5" but I screwed up. Cleaned up edges of micro around nose gear, landing brake, and gear cover. Put nose gear in closed position, attached landing brake and gear cover. Began sanding bottom with 36 grit. 4
Sun 6/12/05 25 Built a 33" sanding block and a 16.5" flexible sanding block. Continued sanding and sanding and sanding the fuselage bottom with 36 grit. 4
Sun 7/31/05 25 Another round of sanding the fuselage bottom. 1
Mon 8/1/05 25 Another round of sanding the fuselage bottom. 1
Tue 8/2/05 25 Another hour of sanding the fuselage bottom. Starting to hit glass on either side of landing brake and landing gear cover. Still have about 1/8" of micro around nose gear wheel. 1
Thu 8/4/05 25 Another hour of sanding. As it gets thinner I'm finding "bubbles" about dime to quarter sized. These will need to be refilled. 1
Sun 8/14/05 25 Sanded area aft of landing brake. Almost done in that area. 1
Mon 9/5/05 25 More sanding of the bottom. 1
Fri 9/9/05 25 Yet more sanding with 36 grit. Almost done with this pass. 2
Wed 10/5/05 25 Finished the first round of sanding on the fuselage bottom with 36 grit. I now have a bunch of "holes" to refill. Lots of small areas the micro wasn't stuck to the bottom. Most likely from bubbles and poor technique. 1
Chapter Total 33